Miscellaneous appeals process                


The various types of appeals, objections, applications and proceedings involving merits review of decisions of local and State government authorities that can be brought to the Land and Environment Court are described in ss 17, 18 and 19 of the Land and Environment Court Act 1979 (the Court Act). These sections of the Court Act correspond to Classes 1, 2 and 3 of the Court’s jurisdiction, respectively.


The pages covered in 'miscellaneous appeals' describe appeals that appear in ss 17, 18 and 19  of the Court Act, but do not fall into the categories of:

  • development appeals (including objector appeals) in Class 1
  • residential development appeals in Class 1
  • tree and hedge disputes in Class 2
  • objections to valuation of land in Class 3
  • claims for compensation after the compulsory acquisition of land in Class 3
  • Aboriginal land claims and disputes in Class 3.

The term miscellaneous appeals is used by the Court to describe the appeals discussed in these pages. Miscellaneous appeals are dealt with by the Court under the Practice Note – Class 1, 2 and 3 Miscellaneous Appeals.These pages identify:

  • the types of miscellaneous appeals heard by the Court
  • the laws that give rise to the Court’s jurisdiction in these appeals
  • how to determine who has rights of appeal
  • how to determine when the appeal must be made
  • how to file an appeal
  • what to expect during the appeal.

See a map for the miscellaneous appeals category 

How to use these pages

Use the links in the boxes on the right side of your screen to follow the steps in the appeals process.




This website is being updated to comply with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0.